Side English as a Second Language

General Information

The English as a Second Language (ESL) Program helps ensure that “students identified as limited English proficient (LEP) attain English proficiency, develop high levels of academic attainment in English, and meet the same challenging State academic content and student academic achievement standards as all students are expected to meet.” (No Child Left Behind Act of 2001)

ESL services are available to any student who is enrolled in a Cumberland County school (grades K-12) and who has been assessed and identified as limited English proficient.  ESL teachers maintain an Individualized Service Plan (ISP) for all LEP students actively in the program.  LEP students are mainstreamed in their regular classes most of the school day.  ESL instruction is provided using the “pull-out” instructional model in grades K-5 and for one elective class daily in grades 6-12.   Differentiated instruction allows the ESL teacher to create the best learning experiences possible and is essential in meeting the individual language and academic needs of LEP students.  State-adopted textbooks and a variety of resources are available to LEP students.

WIDA Standards
The ESL teachers use the WIDA English Language Proficiency (ELP) Standards adopted by the North Carolina State Department of Public Instruction in June 2008 to prepare lessons.  It is a framework in the design of curriculum, instruction, and assessment of LEP students.  It assists the ESL teachers and mainstream classroom teachers in planning lessons and strategies that target the language learning needs of individual students who have been identified as LEP and ensures that they progress toward full English language proficiency.  The WIDA ELP Standards also assist teachers in modifying instruction in the content areas to match the English language proficiency levels of their LEP students.

There are five WIDA ELP Standards: (1) Social and Instructional Language (2) The Language of Language Arts (3) The Language of Mathematics (4) The Language of Science, and (5) The Language of Social Studies.   Each of the five English language proficiency standards encompasses four language domains – Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.  There are six levels of English language proficiency within each language domain that a student can attain: 1 – Entering; 2 – Beginning; 3 – Developing; 4 – Expanding; 5 – Bridging; and, 6 – Reaching.

Further information regarding the WIDA ELP Standards may be accessed by going to:

Who Is Identified as LEP?
Kindergarteners whose native or home language is a language other than English and who score below 27 on the WIDA ACCESS Placement Test (W-APT) in Listening and in Speaking are identified as LEP.  First graders who score below 27 on the W-APT Listening and Speaking and score below 14 in Reading and score below 17 in Writing are identified as LEP.  Students in grades 2-12 who score below level 5- Bridging in at least one language domain or below level 5 in the composite score of the W-APT are identified as LEP.

Once a student has been assessed on the W-APT and is identified as LEP, his/her parent is contacted by the ESL teacher designated to the child’s school.  The ESL Program is explained to the parent and, if the parent agrees to ESL services, the ESL teacher will complete a Parent Interview and send home a Parental Agreement that will need to be signed and dated.  If a parent chooses to decline ESL services for his/her child, a “waiver” will need to be signed and dated.  The “waiver” will state why the parent declined ESL services for his/her child.  The child will not receive ESL services and will remain in his/her mainstream classes.

All LEP students, including those not served by the ESL program, must be assessed annually during the Spring Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State (ACCESS) testing cycle.  Once an LEP student reaches the level of language proficiency established by the North Carolina State Department of Public Instruction, the student is no longer identified as “limited English proficient.”  Students who are actively in the ESL Program will “exit” the program.

No Child Left Behind Requirement
Under Section 3113 of Title III of No Child Left Behind, states are required to “establish standards and objectives for raising the level of English proficiency that are derived from the 4 recognized domains of speaking, listening, reading, and writing….”  These standards must be separate from the state’s English language arts standards, but must be linked to them and to other academic content and student achievement standards.  The WIDA ELP Standards comply with the Title III requirements.

Under both Title I and Title III of No Child Left Behind, states are required to annually assess the English proficiency of students identified as LEP.  In addition, under Title III, states must establish Annual Measurable Achievement Objectives (AMAOs) for both progress and attainment of English language proficiency.

North Carolina requires that all local districts and charter schools within the state use the same English language proficiency assessment instrument.  The instrument must measure the WIDA ELP Standards.  The North Carolina State Department of Public Instruction has adopted the W-APT (initial screener) and the ACCESS (annual assessment) as the English language proficiency assessments for public schools in the state.  The results of the ACCESS will be used to determine whether or not the AMAOs have been met.

For further information on the English as a Second Language program for Cumberland County Schools, please contact the ESL office at 910. 484.1176.

Published by Nydzia Smith on August 26, 2016

Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to
Web Manager

Website Accessibility I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web | Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias